Home / Affiliates

 

(Members of the Graduate Faculty of the IHPST from other University of Toronto departments, or external to the University of Toronto, and Professors Emeriti)

Name Institutional Affiliation Area of specialization Contact
James R. Brown Professor Emeritus of the Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of science, foundations of physics, philosophy of mathematics, sociology of science jrbrown@chass.utoronto.ca
Anjan Chakravartty Professor, Dept. of Philosophy, University of Notre Dame Philosophy of science chakravartty.1@nd.edu
Ronald B. De Sousa Professor Emeritus of the Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of mind; philosophy of biology sousa@chass.utoronto.ca
Yves Gingras Professor, Dept. of History, UQAM History of physics gingras.yves@uqam.ca
Maya J. Goldenberg Associate Professor, Dept. of Philosopy, University of Guelph Medical epistemology in social context mgolden@uoguelph.ca
Daniel J. Goldstick Professor Emeritus of the Dept. of Philosophy Philosophy of Science 416-925-6731
Ingrid Hehmeyer Associate Professor, Dept. of History, Ryerson University History of Arab/Islamic sciences and technology ihehmeye@arts.ryerson.ca
Franz Huber Assistant Professor, Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto Formal epistemology, general philosophy of science and philosophical logic, metaphysics, philosophy of language, metaphilosophy franz.huber@utoronto.ca
Philippe Huneman Professor, Institut d’Histoire et de Philosophie des Sciences et des Techniques (IHPST), Paris Philosophy of biology; philosophy of medicine; Kantism and modern German philosophy; history of 18th-19th century biology; philosophy of science huneman@wanadoo.fr
Edward Jones-Imhotep Associate Professor, Department of History, York University History of technology and the history and philosophy of the physical sciences imhotep@yorku.ca
Bernard Lightman Professor, Division of Humanities, York University Science and religion lightman@yorku.ca
Margaret Morrison Professor, Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of science; Kant mmorris@chass.utoronto.ca
Michelle Murphy Professor, Dept. of History and Women and Gender Studies, University of Toronto History of science, technology, and environment; Feminist science and technology studies michelle.murphy@utoronto.ca
Steve Penfold Associate Professor, Dept. of History, University of Toronto 20th century Canada, social, cultural, political steve.penfold@utoronto.ca
William E. Seager Professor, Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of science; philosophy of mind seager@utsc.utoronto.ca
Edward (Ned) Shorter Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto History of medicine; history of psychiatry history.medicine@utoronto.ca
Brian Cantwell Smith Faculty of Information, University of Toronto Foundations and philosophy of computing, both in the practice and theory of computer science and in the use of computational metaphors in other fields such as philosophy, cognitive science, physics, and art brian.cantwell.smith@utoronto.ca
Stephen D. Snobelen Associate Professor, History of Science and Technology, University of King’s College History of science (Early Modern and 19th century); science and religion, Isaac Newton; the popularization of science; radical theology in the Early Modern period; and millenarianism Stephen.snobelen@ukings.ca
Paul Thompson Professor Emeritus of the IHPST Philosophy of biology p.thompson@utoronto.ca
Ross E.G. Upshur Family and Community Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto Philosophy of Medicine ross.upshur@utoronto.ca
David A. Wolfe Professor, Dept. of Political Science, University of Toronto Economics of innovation and technology transfer david.wolfe@utoronto.ca
 
 

Share This