Home / Affiliates

 

(Members of the Graduate Faculty of the IHPST from other University of Toronto departments, or external to the University of Toronto, and Professors Emeriti)

Name Institutional Affiliation Area of specialization Contact
Brown, James R. Professor Emeritus of the Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of science, foundations of physics, philosophy of mathematics, sociology of science jrbrown@chass.utoronto.ca
Chakravartty, Anjan Professor, Dept. of Philosophy, University of Notre Dame Philosophy of science chakravartty.1@nd.edu
De Sousa, Ronald B. Professor Emeritus of the Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of mind; philosophy of biology sousa@chass.utoronto.ca
Gingras, Yves Professor, Dept. of History, UQAM History of physics gingras.yves@uqam.ca
Goldenberg, Maya J. Associate Professor, Dept. of Philosopy, University of Guelph Medical epistemology in social context mgolden@uoguelph.ca
Goldstick, Daniel J. Professor Emeritus of the Dept. of Philosophy Philosophy of Science 416-925-6731
Hehmeyer, Ingrid Associate Professor, Dept. of History, Ryerson University History of Arab/Islamic sciences and technology ihehmeye@arts.ryerson.ca
Huber, Franz Assistant Professor, Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto Formal epistemology, general philosophy of science and philosophical logic, metaphysics, philosophy of language, metaphilosophy franz.huber@utoronto.ca
Huneman, Philippe Professor, Institut d’Histoire et de Philosophie des Sciences et des Techniques (IHPST), Paris Philosophy of biology; philosophy of medicine; Kantism and modern German philosophy; history of 18th-19th century biology; philosophy of science huneman@wanadoo.fr
Jones-Imhotep, Edward Associate Professor, Department of History, York University History of technology and the history and philosophy of the physical sciences imhotep@yorku.ca
Lightman, Bernard Professor, Division of Humanities, York University Science and religion lightman@yorku.ca
Morrison, Margaret Professor, Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of science; Kant mmorris@chass.utoronto.ca
Murphy, Michelle Professor, Dept. of History and Women and Gender Studies, University of Toronto History of science, technology, and environment; Feminist science and technology studies michelle.murphy@utoronto.ca
Penfold, Steve Associate Professor, Dept. of History, University of Toronto 20th century Canada, social, cultural, political steve.penfold@utoronto.ca
Seager, William E. Professor, Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of science; philosophy of mind seager@utsc.utoronto.ca
Shorter, Edward (Ned) Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto History of medicine; history of psychiatry history.medicine@utoronto.ca
Smith, Brian Cantwell Faculty of Information, University of Toronto Foundations and philosophy of computing, both in the practice and theory of computer science and in the use of computational metaphors in other fields such as philosophy, cognitive science, physics, and art brian.cantwell.smith@utoronto.ca
Snobelen, Stephen D. Associate Professor, History of Science and Technology, University of King’s College History of science (Early Modern and 19th century); science and religion, Isaac Newton; the popularization of science; radical theology in the Early Modern period; and millenarianism Stephen.snobelen@ukings.ca
Thompson, Paul Professor Emeritus of the IHPST Philosophy of biology p.thompson@utoronto.ca
Upshur, Ross E.G. Family and Community Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto Philosophy of Medicine ross.upshur@utoronto.ca
Wolfe, David A. Professor, Dept. of Political Science, University of Toronto Economics of innovation and technology transfer david.wolfe@utoronto.ca
 
 

Share This