Home / Affiliates

 

(Members of the Graduate Faculty of the IHPST from other University of Toronto departments, or external to the University of Toronto, and Professors Emeriti)

Name Institutional Affiliation Area of specialization Contact
Suze Berkhout Assistant Professor, Psychiatry, University of Toronto Feminist philosophy and STS especially with connections with disability studies Suze.Berkhout@uhn.ca
James R. Brown Professor Emeritus, Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of science, foundations of physics, philosophy of mathematics, sociology of science jrbrown@chass.utoronto.ca
Anjan Chakravartty Professor, Philosophy, University of Miami Philosophy of science chakravartty@miami.edu
Ronald B. De Sousa Professor Emeritus, Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of mind; philosophy of biology sousa@chass.utoronto.ca
Yves Gingras Professor, History, UQAM History of physics/td> gingras.yves@uqam.ca
Daniel J. Goldstick Professor Emeritus of the Dept. of Philosophy Philosophy of Science
Franz Huber Associate Professor, Philosophy, University of Toronto Formal epistemology, general philosophy of science, and philosophical logic, Metaphysics, philosophy of language, metaphilosophy franz.huber@utoronto.ca
Joel Katzav Senior Lecturer, School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry, University of Queensland Philosophy of science and technology, epistemology, metaphysics, and the history of 20th century philosophy, philosophy of climate science uqjkatza@uq.edu.au
Bernard Lightman Professor, Division of Humanities, York University Science and religion lightman@yorku.ca
Steve Penfold Associate Professor, History, University of Toronto 20th century Canada, social, cultural, political steve.penfold@utoronto.ca
Geoffrey Reaume Associate Professor, Faculty of Health, York University Mad people’s history; history of people with disabilities; psychiatric consumer/survivor movements; class, labour and disability; archiving the history of psychiatric consumer/survivors; and accessible history greaume@yorku.ca
John Russon Professor, Philosophy, University of Guelph Ancient Greek philosophy, German idealism, and phenomenology jrusson@uoguelph.ca
William E. Seager Professor, Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of science; philosophy of mind bill.seager@utoronto.ca
Edward (Ned) Shorter Hannah Professor in the History of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto History of medicine; history of psychiatry history.medicine@utoronto.ca
Brian Cantwell Smith Professor, Faculty of Information, University of Toronto Foundations and philosophy of computing, both in the practice and theory of computer science and in the use of computational metaphors in other fields such as philosophy, cognitive science, physics, and art brian.cantwell.smith@utoronto.ca
Stephen D. Snobelen Associate Professor, History of Science and Technology, University of King’s College, Halifax History of science (Early Modern and 19th century); science and religion, Isaac Newton; the popularization of science; radical theology in the Early Modern period; and Millenarianism snobelen@dal.ca
Paul Thompson Professor Emeritus,IHPST, University of Toronto Philosophy of biology p.thompson@utoronto.ca
Ross E.G. Upshur Professor, Family and Community Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto Philosophy of Medicine ross.upshur@utoronto.ca