Home / People

 

Faculty

Name Research Area Title Email
Brian Baigrie Philosophy of Science; Early Modern Natural Philosophy Associate Professor brian.baigrie@utoronto.ca
Joseph Berkovitz Philosophy of Probability, Philosophy of Physics, Philosophy of Economics Associate Professor joseph.berkovitz@utoronto.ca
Elise Burton History of the life sciences in the modern Middle East Assistant Professor e.burton@utoronto.ca
Lucia Dacome History of medicine Associate Professor lucia.dacome@utoronto.ca
Yiftach Fehige Christianity and science Associate Professor yiftach.fehige@utoronto.ca
Craig Fraser History of mathematics Professor craig.fraser@utoronto.ca
Edward Jones-Imhotep History of Technology Associate Professor and Director director.ihpst@utoronto.ca
Nikolai Krementsov History of biology and of medicine Professor n.krementsov@utoronto.ca
Mark Solovey History and philosophy of the social sciences Associate Professor mark.solovey@utoronto.ca
Wen-Ching Sung Medical anthropology; anthropology of science and technology Assistant Professor wenching.sung@utoronto.ca
Marga Vicedo History of biology Professor marga.vicedo@utoronto.ca
Karina Vold Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Technology, Artificial Intelligence (AI), and Applied Ethics Assistant Professor karina.vold@utoronto.ca
Denis Walsh Philosophy of biology Professor denis.walsh@utoronto.ca
Rebecca Woods History of technology Assistant Professor rebecca.woods@utoronto.ca
Chen-Pang Yeang History of physics Associate Professor chenpang.yeang@utoronto.ca

Affiliates

Back to top of page
(Members of the Graduate Faculty of the IHPST from other University of Toronto departments, or external to the University of Toronto, and Professors Emeriti)

Name Institutional Affiliation Area of specialization Contact
Suze Berkhout Assistant Professor, Psychiatry, University of Toronto Feminist philosophy and STS especially with connections with disability studies Suze.Berkhout@uhn.ca
Anne-Emanuelle Birn Professor, Department of Political Science, UTSC History, politics, and political economy of international/global health, focusing on Latin American health and social justice movements, child health, and philanthrocapitalism ae.birn@utoronto.ca
James R. Brown Professor Emeritus, Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of science, foundations of physics, philosophy of mathematics, sociology of science jrbrown@chass.utoronto.ca
Anjan Chakravartty Professor, Philosophy, University of Miami Philosophy of science chakravartty@miami.edu
Ronald B. De Sousa Professor Emeritus, Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of mind; philosophy of biology sousa@chass.utoronto.ca
Yves Gingras Professor, History, UQAM History of physics/td> gingras.yves@uqam.ca
Daniel J. Goldstick Professor Emeritus of the Dept. of Philosophy Philosophy of Science
Franz Huber Associate Professor, Philosophy, University of Toronto Formal epistemology, general philosophy of science, and philosophical logic, Metaphysics, philosophy of language, metaphilosophy franz.huber@utoronto.ca
Joel Katzav Senior Lecturer, School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry, University of Queensland Philosophy of science and technology, epistemology, metaphysics, and the history of 20th century philosophy, philosophy of climate science uqjkatza@uq.edu.au
Bernard Lightman Professor, Division of Humanities, York University Science and religion lightman@yorku.ca
Cheryl Misak University Professor, Philosophy, University of Toronto Bioethics, ethics, history of analytic philosophy, pragmatism, social and political philosophy cheryl.misak@utoronto.ca
Steve Penfold Associate Professor, History, University of Toronto 20th century Canada, social, cultural, political steve.penfold@utoronto.ca
Geoffrey Reaume Associate Professor, Faculty of Health, York University Mad people’s history; history of people with disabilities; psychiatric consumer/survivor movements; class, labour and disability; archiving the history of psychiatric consumer/survivors; and accessible history greaume@yorku.ca
John Russon Professor, Philosophy, University of Guelph Ancient Greek philosophy, German idealism, and phenomenology jrusson@uoguelph.ca
Shiho Satsuka Associate Professor, Dept. of Anthropology, University of Toronto Politics of knowledge, cultural translation, nature, science, environment, capitalism, work, subjectivity, tourism, translocal interactions, popular culture, gender s.satsuka@utoronto.ca
William E. Seager Professor, Philosophy, University of Toronto Philosophy of science; philosophy of mind bill.seager@utoronto.ca
Edward (Ned) Shorter Hannah Professor in the History of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto History of medicine; history of psychiatry history.medicine@utoronto.ca
Brian Cantwell Smith Professor, Faculty of Information, University of Toronto Foundations and philosophy of computing, both in the practice and theory of computer science and in the use of computational metaphors in other fields such as philosophy, cognitive science, physics, and art brian.cantwell.smith@utoronto.ca
Stephen D. Snobelen Associate Professor, History of Science and Technology, University of King’s College, Halifax History of science (Early Modern and 19th century); science and religion, Isaac Newton; the popularization of science; radical theology in the Early Modern period; and Millenarianism snobelen@dal.ca
Paul Thompson Professor Emeritus,IHPST, University of Toronto Philosophy of biology p.thompson@utoronto.ca
Ross E.G. Upshur Professor, Family and Community Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto Philosophy of Medicine ross.upshur@utoronto.ca

Part-Time Instructors & Sessional Lecturers

Back to top of page

Name Research Area Title Email
Roberta Buiani Science and Technology Studies, Visual Cultures, Media studies, Science Communication, Emerging Technoscience Sessional Lecturer roberta.buiani@utoronto.ca
Fermin Fulda Philosophy of Biology; Philosophy of Mind and Cognitive Science; General Philosophy of Science Sessional Lecturer fermin.fulda@mail.utoronto.ca
Juan Ilerbaig History of Biology; History of Archival Research Sessional Lecturer j.ilerbaig.adell@utoronto.ca
Elizabeth Koester History of Medicine; History of Eugenics in Canada Part-Time Instructor elizabeth.koester@mail.utoronto.ca
Cory Lewis Philosophy of Science Part-Time Instructor cory.lewis@utoronto.ca
Mathew Mercuri Philosophy of Medicine Sessional Lecturer mathew.mercuri@utoronto.ca
Sylvia Nickerson History of Mathematics Sessional Lecturer s.nickerson@utoronto.ca

Administrators of the IHPST

Back to top of page

Academic Administrators

Name Research Area Title Email
Edward Jones-Imhotep History of Technology Associate Professor and Director director.ihpst@utoronto.ca
Brian Baigrie Philosophy of Science; Early Modern Natural Philosophy Director of Graduate Studies brian.baigrie@utoronto.ca
Joseph Berkovitz Philosophy of Physics Director of Undergraduate Studies joseph.berkovitz@utoronto.ca

Administrative Staff

Name Title Contact
Muna Salloum Business Manager and Executive Assistant to the Director muna.salloum@utoronto.ca
416-978-5131
Denise Horsley Graduate and Undergraduate Academic Assistant denise.horsley@utoronto.ca
416-978-5397
Adriana Leviston Administrative Assistant adriana.leviston@utoronto.ca
416-946-7414

Graduate Students

Back to top of page

Name Research Area Program Email
Markus Alliksaar Philosophy of science PhD mark.alliksaar@mail.utoronto.ca
Esther Atkinson Eighteenth century medicine; 18th century childhood PhD esther.atkinson@utoronto.ca
Vincent Auffrey Social History of Medicine, History of Eugenics, History of Canada PhD vincent.auffrey@mail.utoronto.ca
Oana Baboi History of medicine, South Asian studies PhD oana.baboi@mail.utoronto.ca
Donald Borrett Philosophy of science PhD d.borrett@utoronto.ca
Zhixiang Cheng philosophy and (intellectual) history of biology, general philosophy of science PhD  zhixiang.cheng@mail.utoronto.ca
Austin Due Philosophy of science and medicine PhD a.due@mail.utoronto.ca
Charlotte Duffee Philosophy of science PhD charlotte.marcotte.toale@mail.utoronto.ca
Oubai Elkerdi Metaphysics; epistemology; science and religion; technology and culture MA oubai.elkerdi@mail.utoronto.ca
Roula Faraj Epistemology, philosophy of Perception, history and philosophy of physics PhD roula.faraj@mail.utoronto.ca
Victoria Fisher Science & Technology Museums & Collections PhD victoria.fisher@utoronto.ca
Jennifer Fraser History of medicine, science and technology studies, public health history, and Aboriginal health PhD jenniferlindsey.fraser@mail.utoronto.ca
Gary Graham Philosophy of physics; philosophy of quantum mechanics, specifically the justification of retrocausalsolutions by means of current causal models PhD gary.graham@mail.utoronto.ca
Jessica Hall Philosophy of mind, cognition and AI; philosophy of mathematics PhD jessie.hall@mail.utoronto.ca
Daniel Halverson History of biology, c. 1850-1950; philosophy of history PhD daniel.halverson@mail.utoronto.ca
Jan Henning History of Technology, History of Medicine PhD jan.henning@mail.utoronto.ca
Ata Heshmati History of science and technology in the West Asia; Science and Technology Studies; Technology and religion; History of nuclear technology PhD ata.heshmati@mail.utoronto.ca
Andrew Jones Philosophy of Medicine, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Psychiatry, Psychedelic Science PhD aj.jones@mail.utoronto.ca
Sunguk Jung  History of Genetics, History of Eugenics, and History of Medicine PhD jung.sunguk@mail.utoronto.ca
Atoosa Kasirzadeh Philosophy of Science PhD atoosa.kasirzadeh@mail.utoronto.ca
Aaron Kenna  Philosophy of probability PhD aaron.kenna@mail.utoronto.ca
Emy Kim History of technology PhD emy.kim@utoronto.ca
Craig Knox Philosophy of psychiatry PhD craig.knox@mail.utoronto.ca
Sophie LeBlanc History and Philosophy of Technology and the Environment PhD sophie.leblanc@utoronto.ca
Aaron Lepp Science and religion; social epistemology; and philosophy of science PhD aaron.lepp@mail.utoronto.ca
Bree Lohman History of Technology PhD
Karl Loszak Philosophy of mind; and history of psychoanalysis MA karl.loszak@mail.utoronto.ca
Soroush Marouzi Philosophy of Probability, Philosophy of Economics, History of Economic Thought, Decision Theory, and Pragmatism PhD soroush.marouzi@mail.utoronto.ca
Candace Massey History PhD candace.massey@mail.utoronto.ca
Auguste Nahas History and philosophy of biology PhD auguste.nahas@mail.utoronto.ca
Andrew Oakes History of astronomy PhD andrew.oakes@utoronto.ca
Paul Patton Philosophy of cognitive science; philosophy of neuroscience; and philosophy of biology PhD paul.patton@mail.utoronto.ca
Denisa Popa History of Medicine MA denisa.popa@mail.utoronto.ca
Sarah Qidwai History of science and religion; science and Islam; Colonialism and Science; South Asian Studies PhD sarah.qidwai@mail.utoronto.ca
Toby Reid History of astronomy; history and philosophy of cosmology; history and philosophy of the (general) theory of relativity; philosophy of technology (forecasting) PhD toby (dot) reid (at) mail (dot) utoronto (dot) ca
Greg Rupik History and philosophy of biology PhD greg.rupik@mail.utoronto.ca
Juan Serrano History of astronomy and cosmology, early modern science, the scientific revolution, science and religion, general philosophy of science PhD jd.serrano@mail.utoronto.ca
Filippo Maria Sposini History of Normality, History of Psychiatry, History of Medicine, History of Psychology, History & Philosophy of Social Sciences PhD filippomaria.sposini@mail.utoronto.ca
Clara Steinhagen History of medicine and epidemiology PhD clara.steinhagen@mail.utoronto.ca
Joel West History of science as philosophy and the phenomenology of science theory PhD joel.west@mail.utoronto.ca
Cassandra Williams Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, and Artificial Intelligence MA cassandra.williams@mail.utoronto.ca
Adrian K. Yee History & Philosophy of Economics, Philosophy of Science, Political Philosophy PhD  adriankyle.yee@mail.utoronto.ca
Fan Zhang Epistemology, structuralism; philosophy of science; archaeological theory PhD f.zhang@utoronto.ca